Trinity United Church of Christ traces its roots to the early German immigrants seeking religious freedom who settled near the Monocacy River in the early 1700’s. As members of the German Reformed Church, a congregation was formally established in 1770.
Trinity Reformed Church was dedicated on June 13, 1880; Rev. Henry Wissler was the first pastor with 52 founding members. On October 26, 1901, the cornerstone was laid for an expansion of the building which added a new sanctuary and Sunday school classrooms. Electricity was brought into the church in 1911 and a Mohler organ was installed in 1913.
In 1957, the United Church of Christ was formed and Trinity became a part of this union. We are members of the United Church of Christ by our membership as one of the local congregations which belong to the UCC. Each member brings talents, needs, and strength to the local congregation and to the wider church. We feel a call to be a peace and justice church and realize the challenge to be a growing church. We know our need to be nourished by scripture and grow spiritually. Our hope is to include people of all family styles. This rich variety of traditions and gifts makes the UCC unique.
We govern ourselves democratically. Local congregations are responsible for their own affairs, including how money is raised and spent, and how social issues are addressed. In Covenant, congregations voluntarily join together to share ministries in our communities, nation and world. We are a united and uniting church, believing that cooperation and ecumenical work are the will of Christ. To this day, Trinity United Church of Christ embraces the scripture that continues to bind us together—“That they may all be one.” John 17:21